Vox populi, Vox Dei: GLITCHBOY2000


Art is the most intense mode of individualism that the world has known.

-Oscar Wilde

Each era has it’s form of art and creative expression outlets and each form of creative expression has it’s own magic and audience. Glitch-art (glitch- spike in volume, a “signal lost”) is a form of art that manipulates pictures or paintings to make mistakes on purpose. Such term derived from Yiddish language words and then it was widely used by astronauts and engineers from NASA, especially in the first human space program called Project Mercury  which they used to describe various spikes or simply a change in voltage in an electrical current. Not to sound too serious, but these kind of mistakes in voltage and signal in human spaceflight usually meant danger and fatal consequences.

Fast forward to future and here we are in glitch heaven. If you haven’t seen aesthetic videos and works of glitch art you have come to the right place.

 

Rudolf Crnko, better known as  Glitchboy2000  is a young glitch-artist from Croatia and he seems to be catching eye of the public with his very variable art form expressions. Digital art and oil paintings…Renaissance pictures getting distorted, fucked up or simply put glitched.  I had a chance to speak and interview him, so we can talk about his fascinating artwork which does get lots of traffic and popularity.

And if you’re still wondering what are we talking about, just scroll further for the interview.

Red and Blue
BLUE/RED by GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: Tell us something about your very beginnings. Was glitch art something that interested you from the start or did love towards glitch art develop in time?

GLITCHBOY2000: Glitch art is something I’m sort of new at. I can say that my journey to glitch art started during second year of Academy of Arts, even though I’ve been drawing and painting pictures for probably 20 years.

Glitch art was my first, real direction in art. In the last few years I was sort of trying to find a direction and see what exactly I would like to paint and then glitch came into my life and it seems to be working.

 

HF: In which ways did collaborations with others help you in expanding your horizons or refined your views, even taste?

GLITCHBOY2000: Well, to be honest I haven’t had that many collaborations with other artists yet. I did collaborations with ten artists max, but even that was helpful. I would like to experience working with others even though I am not really a team kind of person and I prefer doing things alone.

19142030_1861667370827685_1769741442_n
MEDUSA by GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: Any influences out there you would like to name? (in any form of art that is)

GLITCHBOY2000: On number one place Kanye West. It’s not that I am a huge fan of his music, but simply his attitude towards everything is something every artist should have. That “I don’t give a fuck attitude”  is simply showing that you do what you love and are completely confident in what you do…so in some way Kanye West did help me with lots of things I was perhaps afraid of doing, at least until the moment I realized and said: “I don’t give a fuck! I know what I’m doing, I know what I want and I will do it!”

 

“…so in some way Kanye West did help me with lots of things I was perhaps afraid of doing, at least until the moment I realized and said: “I don’t give a fuck! I know what I’m doing, I know what I want and I will do it!” “

 

HF: GLITCHBOY2000, any interesting story behind the name? 

GLITCHBOY2000: Glitchboy2000 is a really random name. Actually my first artist name, on Instagram was Mr. Valentino (laughs) . Back then, I wanted some nice, fancy name but ever since I started with glitch art, I wanted to put glitch- something so I put -boy- because of my PRSOBOY squad, and 2000 is just a random number since I like names with numbers. No special hidden meaning behind it, it’s just a nice and round number really.

 

19206309_1861667777494311_1245888351_n
FIRST DAY OF SCHOOL -GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: How much time do you usually spend creating something?

GLITCHBOY2000: It all just depends on dimensions, my laziness but mostly on idea and how much effort it takes to finish it. But honestly I feel like each of my work should start on Monday, because of my OCD tendencies. I see each work divided by the days through the week or two and then I know exactly what I need to do and when, but of course that really rarely ends how I picture it.

 

HF: What are some of your favorite forms of creativity expression?

GLITCHBOY2000: My favorite forms of creative expressions are peeing on snow, drawing weiners on dirty cars and frying weiners (not the ones I draw on dirty cars). I’m actually thinking of writing a book “100 ways of frying weiners”. I’m a boss when it comes to that.

19184408_1861670467494042_1069878216_n
MONA LISA (painting) by GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: In older forms of art, having muses was something essential for every artist. Do you think that tradition is kept to this day? Do you have your own muse? What inspires you the most?

GLITCHBOY2000: I don’ know about other artists and their muses, but my muse would be internet? I’m probably spending at least 15 hours on the internet, either on computer or smartphone and simply put it gives me all the necessary inspiration I need.

Other thing that inspires me for sure is music also. I don’t follow any news because I feel the less I know- the better, but sometimes real life events or television or news can serve me as an inspiration.

 

HF: What are some of your favorite artistic eras? On what kind of paintings do you prefer do glitch or work on?

GLITCHBOY2000: Well honestly, I don’t really have any favorite artistic era, but since you asked first thing that comes to my mind is Baroque. I don’t know why but I love that exaggerated and rich style. As for paintings I like to work on it really depends on idea and inspiration.

19179451_1861668280827594_1213853366_o
LEONARDO DI CAPRIO by GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: Are there more areas where you would like to express yourself in?

GLITCHBOY2000: Sometime in the future, I would really like to have my own clothing line for sure. I love clothes and fashion and this is something I would like to try doing, like having my own thing, but those are long term goals.

I would also try video editing and do all kinds of short videos. I have so many visions and ideas but currently very little time to work it all out. Building my own platform, making my own name and moving forward from that.

 

HF: What’s your opinion on graffiti and street art? There’s a common belief that street art is more accepted in public than graffiti letters, why do you think that is?

GLITCHBOY2000: Graffiti and street art are two very similar but very different forms of art. I actually did some graffiti in the past…spraycans and shit or as civilians would call it vandalism and back then I was seeing it as favorite hobby, at least in my head. I think I was even seeing it as my life because I was in it 24-7, sketching, following what’s new on the streets and internet.

Now I’m looking at it somewhat differently, because I’ve changed a lot since I stopped doing it and I have different standpoints on that particular subject or maybe I just grew up.

I was never really a fan of street art because I grew up in the kinds of circles that never appreciated legal graffiti but only real hardcore illegal graffiti. Of course that people that don’t express themselves through street art or graffiti will say they prefer to see flowers, dogs, lots of color, etc. than letters on buildings. Honestly, I appreciate both forms of graffiti art, but I personally prefer to see some silver bomb on the street, tram or train than some wall with permit and rainbow colors on it, but that’s just me.

19198540_1861668300827592_1567728064_n
404 by GLITCHBOY2000

 

“I was never really a fan of street art because I grew up in the kinds of circles that never appreciated legal graffiti but only real hardcore illegal graffiti. Of course that people that don’t express themselves through street art or graffiti will say they prefer to see flowers, dogs, lots of color, etc. than letters on buildings. Honestly, I appreciate both forms of graffiti art, but I personally prefer to see some silver bomb on the street, tram or train than some wall with permit and rainbow colors on it, but that’s just me.”

 

 

HF: Now it’s time for a bit personal, random question. Tell us an anecdote or an interesting dream that you remember.

GLITCHBOY2000: Ugh, I have terrible dreams. I have some unexplained dreams I still remember to this day that I dream on monthly basis, but we’re not going to talk about bad ones, haha.

Here’s one I remember very well, from few weeks ago. I was on Zagreb main square with three friends of mine: Zoki, Košpa and Doktor, and as we were walking there was a mass hysteria and panic because somehow, from somewhere some fucking bear was wilding out on main square and we all looked at each other like: “What the fuck is going on?” . And then bear noticed us and started chasing and attacking us. So we climbed on the building behind fences and I remember that huge bear jumped on the building (LOL) and attacked me and that I killed it with my bare hands, with no struggle or effort, instantly. It was one crazy dream lol.

 

HF: As someone born in the sign of Leo, sign of biggest creativity expression and someone who always does things based on whether it feels right in their heart or no how do you feel when you’re not able to express yourself in a creative way?

GLITCHBOY2000: Terrible. I am a bipolar person (for sure) and when I have no ideas or when I’m not in the creative flush I’m literally burning. I try to force myself to move, but it’s not always working and then I get nervous and aggressive. Almost like PMS in those days hahaha.

19239869_1861668377494251_484387061_n
Come to Greece by GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: 3 most important things in your life?

GLITCHBOY2000: Sara Landeka (<3) , Playstation & bed. 100%

 

HF: What are some things that make you sad or angry?

GLITCHBOY2000: Things that make me angry are long lines in stores, crowds, when my last beer has one more sip to drink and cold food. And things that make me sad? I don’t know, sad people?

 

HF: How much can a young artist in Croatia expect a financial support or his place in media? What are your experiences so far?

GLITCHBOY2000: So far I don’t know much about it, I’m still young and not really experienced in it, but I think it’s really hard for a young artist like me (especially without academy or some confirmation papers which says you’re something or somebody).

I think it all depends on how much of yourself are you giving into your work and how much you’re heated for it. Money and media will knock on doors eventually. You just need to work.

19190871_1861670460827376_1458822334_n
Mother Mary painting by GLITCHBOY2000

 

HF: Thank you so much for your time and this interview. Do you have any message for all the other artists and people interested in this particular or any other art form?

GLITCHBOY2000: I have a message for all people doing or not doing art, it doesn’t matter. And the message is: Do what you love and what makes you feel great. You shouldn’t give a fuck about what others think about you or your work. Shit is going to have it’s pay one day, so don’t care what others think or do. Everything will come to it’s place. Pussies talk, people work. 

19206372_1861670474160708_54177815_n
Painting by GLITCHBOY2000

 

“Do what you love and what makes you feel great. You shouldn’t give a fuck about what others think about you or your work. Shit is going to have it’s pay one day, so don’t care what others think or do. Everything will come to it’s place. Pussies talk, people work. ”  -Glitchboy2000

 

If you wish to support this artist and follow his work you can contact Glitchboy2000 through:

Glitchboy2000 Instagram page

or Behance page and of course his Facebook page.

Share widely and kill the censorship!

 

-Hermit Fool

Leave a Reply

